This Week’s WOD’s

Photo and complementary days of soreness courtesy of Wellness One Fitness/Crossfit Great Bridge

Photo and complementary week of soreness courtesy of Wellness One Fitness/Crossfit Great Bridge

Well, the “Crossfit season” has begun. Crazed athletes everywhere have just submitted their first open scores and are losing sleep thinking about the next four workouts. Meanwhile, this girl is… simply regretting the doughnut she ate today. Now, for the rundown of this week:

Monday:
Meet Cindy, the girl who left me with throbbing shoulders for four days after this WOD.
Cindy – 20 min Amrap:
5 pullups
10 pushups
15 squats
Result: 13 Rounds (3 rounds Rx pushups, remainder w/ knee pushups)
Now, I definitely didn’t take the gold for speed on this one. However, I’m happy to say that this is the first WOD I have done with all Rx pullups and no band for support! I also did the first 3 rounds with Rx pushups. However, had to give that up when my shoulders turned to jell-o. But watch out, pushups, cause you’re next.

Tuesday:
12 min Amrap:
3 power cleans (125 lb./185 lb.), touch & go
10 toe to bars
15 Wallballs
Result: 4 Rounds @ 95 lb.
As if Cindy didn’t destroy my uppers enough…

Wednesday:
Big, fat, luxurious REST DAY.

Thursday:
2 Rounds for time:
1 min dumbbell squat cleans (20 lb./35 lb.)
1 min deadlifts (155 lb./225 lb.)
1 min pushups
1 min dumbbell jerks (20/35)
1 min rest
Result: 46 reps for round 1, 51 reps for round 2, Rx baby

Friday:
Open WOD 13.1! Read the last post if you don’t know what that is. Uh, and while you’re at it, step your game up, cause everyone knows what that is by now.
Result: 120 reps, Rx
Didn’t quiiiite make it to the 100 lb. snatch. Okay, I was off by about 10 @ 75 and 20 burpees. But I think I did pretty well anyway. I have horribly flat feet that always cramp up during WOD’s like this, which is what happened during the second round of burpees, so I ended up doing the rest of the WOD barefoot. Currently I wear the Crossfit Nano U-forms for most of the WOD’s and occasionally put on my Pumas for running, but I’m thinking about a very minimalist alternative since I seem to have less cramping problems when I’m barefoot. Definitely open to any helpful suggestions in this area, so please let me know if you have an opinion in the minimalist shoe discussion.

Saturday:
Partner WOD:
5 min of front squats, pick your weight. Alternate w/partner for max reps. Result is weight x number of reps completed.
Then, 15 min amrap, alternating:
Partner 1 – 400 m run
Partner 2 – 15 wallballs and 10 box jumps (20″/24″)
Result: 6, 370 lb./7 rounds with my great partner, Olivia!

I apologize for the lateness of the Wodcast. It should be posted soon, and we’ll be talking about the Open. As always, please feel free to leave questions, comments, concerns, or pictures of you drinking beer while doing burpees below.

About theunlimitedmom

Chelsea Sherman is a writer/communication guru living in Virginia Beach. She loves Jesus, spending time with her daughter and her husband, working out, eating bacon and Netflix binging.

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Crossfit, This Week's WOD's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

