This Week’s WOD’s + Ripped Callus Remorse

Yes, I really like working out barefoot at Crossfit Great Bridge

Yes, I really like working out barefoot at Crossfit Great Bridge

So, the worst thing to happen to me this week was not 13.4. On the contrary, I think that was the least painful open WOD so far. The most painful thing to happen this week was ripping a huge callus on my left hand ten minutes before 13:4! And the subsequent horrible pain from having to apply new skin like three minutes before doing toes-to-bar. I don’t know if you’ve ever had to use new skin… but if you have, you know what I’m talking about. Yowwch. I even went out of my way the day before to buy gloves cause of my ripped callus on my other hand… then didn’t wear them, of course, cause – well, cause gloves suck.

Anyway, here’s this week’s WOD’s.

Monday: 3×5 Back Squat, then
3 rounds:
20 burpees
20 toes to bar
Result: 135 lb. back squats
9:52, Rx
Yes, commence the hand-destruction that continued all week and culminated in the holes in my right palm and left… whatever that area on your hand is where all your main calluses are.

Tuesday: 10 min Amrap:
5 power cleans 125/185
7 handstand push-ups
9 ring dips
Result: 2 Rounds + 1 handstand push-up @ 95 lb. + band for ring dips
So… I didn’t really try to get a lot of reps with this WOD. I basically used it for skill practice of my handstand push-ups, because… I’ve never done them before! It was rough – it probably took me 4 minutes at least to get through the first 7 handstand push-ups – but I’m proud that I got through them. Not bad for never having done them before!

Wednesday: Sequence of:
21-18-15-12-9 unbroken pull-ups for time
Result: 7:49, broken
Then: 10 100-m sprints with 90 seconds rest in between (not for time)
Well, this is how my palm ripped. 75 pull-ups later…

Thursday: Rest!

Friday: 13:4
Y’all can look that up here if you haven’t been paying attention.
Result: 41 reps, Rx

Unfortunately, I was more concerned about the horrible burning in my torn hand than throwing 95 pounds overhead. But I liked this WOD. I wish I had done it over after my hand healed, but it’s alright, I feel pretty good about what I did.

For those of you who are at this point annoyed with me going on and on about my ripped calluses… go somewhere else because you’ve obviously never ripped a callus! It’s a tragedy! You work so hard to get these wonderful, hideous, stone-hard, perfect-gripping monstrosities to help you with your WOD’s, and then all your hard work is nothing more than a disgusting flap of too-hard skin on the floor. Yes, friends, this is only a taste of my sure-to-be hit, Ode to a Callus, coming soon to Functionally Fit. 😉

As always, I’d love any input you have about the Open or whatever other primal things you’d like to discuss!

About theunlimitedmom

Chelsea Sherman is a writer/communication guru living in Virginia Beach. She loves Jesus, spending time with her daughter and her husband, working out, eating bacon and Netflix binging.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Crossfit, This Week's WOD's and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

