Weekly WOD Rundown

Hi there, faithful followers. Please excuse my absence the past few weeks. I was super busy with finals and such, but I’m happy to report that I’m all graduated with my BA in English, and the next stop is grad school in the fall!

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about the format of this site, and I think it’ll be best to change the weekly WOD’s from just a rundown of every single workout I do (cause I do a lot of them, and it’s probably pretty boring to read if I don’t have much to say about a particular one) to focusing on two or three from that week that have particularly stood out. So we’ll see how that goes.

I have also begun training for the Mid-Atlantic Garage Games in August, which will be held right here at our awesome Virginia Beach Sportsplex. I’m going to be competing with a team from my box – two guys and two girls, including me – and I’m incredibly excited for it! It’s already proving to be challenging and demanding, but I’m loving the added motivation that comes with pursuing a goal like this. So anticipate hearing lots about my trials and successes with that extra training too.

WODs that sucked this past week:
Tuesday, 5/14
“Tabata Something Else”:
Max reps of tabata pullups, pushups, situps, squats with no rest in between.

You probably know, but tabata anything is 20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest for 8 rounds. If you haven’t done this with any exercise yet… please go experience it. It’s just insane. Unfortunately I ripped my hand by the third round of pullups, so the next five rounds were pretty painful. And the pushups! If you really want a humbling experience, do tabata pushups. I was down to 4 a round by the last couple sets. Situps and squats were a nice break, until the very end when I was about 90% sure my legs were actually on fire. At the end of this, I’m sure everything hurt but the only thing I noticed were my poor legs. So yeah, this is a great workout if you want to completely burn out your major muscles. Just remember each time – you can do anything for twenty seconds, right?
Result: 285 reps + one gross ripped callus

tabatacallus

Wednesday, 5/15
5 Rounds for time:
9 Deadlift (95/135)
6 Hang power snatch
3 Overhead squat

This sucked because, plain and simple, my overhead needs serious work. Snatches are a definite weakness, meaning hang snatches are just a total nuisance for me. After ripping my hand the day before, I could barely grip the bar properly either, which is part of why this wasn’t a great workout for me. I definitely can’t blame it all on my hand, though. I’ve got to work on my stability and confidence in my overhead squats and snatches if I want to improve here.
I’m not sure of my exact time for this, but I know my weight was only a disappointing 65 lb.

Favorite WODs this week:
Monday, 5/20
“Elizabeth”:
21-15-9 reps for time:
Clean (95/135)
Ring Dip
Then rest until 10-minute cap reached
Run 1 mile

I liked this because I’m pretty comfortable with a 95 lb. clean, and because I really need work with ring dips if I ever want to get a muscle-up.
Result: Elizabeth – 7:55, blue band for ring dips. Mile – 7:22

Tuesday, 5/21
5×3 Back squat, Increasing
Then 3 rounds for time:
12 Wallballs (16 lb/20 lb)
12 Box jumps (20 in/24 in)
12 Toes to bar

I didn’t think I would like this WOD because of my intense hatred for wallballs. But all my hatred has turned into hard work to get better at them, and I did the first two rounds of wallballs all unbroken and the last round in two sets of 6. I actually surprised myself with my time on this one. Yay!
Result: 5:44, Rx

Alright, I’m off to do some heavy push presses and front squats, then a surprise team workout that I’m sure will be just as fun-filled. As always, feel free to leave your thoughts or advice! Ideas for a team name are also welcome!

About theunlimitedmom

Chelsea Sherman is a writer/communication guru living in Virginia Beach. She loves Jesus, spending time with her daughter and her husband, working out, eating bacon and Netflix binging.

Posted on May 23, 2013, in Crossfit, This Week's WOD's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

